All Alone

While flying from Houston to Fort Lauderdale, Florida two years ago, I recall looking out the window and marveling at the vastness of the ocean below. As we flew further out over the Gulf of Mexico and away from the coastlines of Louisiana and Mississippi, the number of ships and offshore oil rigs became fewer and fewer until finally, there were none to be seen anywhere. There was just an empty ocean as far as I could see. I remember thinking it would not good to be stranded on a small boat in the middle of all that water. In spite of being inside the cabin of a plane with over a hundred other people, I experienced this brief sensation of being all alone as I stared at the emptiness of the ocean below.

Last year, while flying over the Arizona desert, I felt that same sensation. It was the sensation of being isolated, of being all alone. Our flightpath took us over some of the most remote and desolate terrain in the country. There was nothing down there but sand and desert. There were no roads or interstates crisscrossing the landscape like you usually see when flying over other parts of the country. And again, I remember thinking it wouldn’t be a good place to be stranded because if you were to ever to find yourself stranded in a desert, you’d be in serious trouble. Chances are, you wouldn’t survive.

Suppose for a moment that you found yourself stranded in one of those places. Let’s say you were on a fishing trip dozens of miles from shore when the boat’s engine suddenly quit. Or imagine what it would be like if you were in a four wheel drive vehicle or on an ATV in the middle of the Arizona desert, a hundred miles from nowhere, and it breaks down, or you get it stuck in the sand and can’t dig it out. If either of those things happened, you’d feel like you were the only person left on earth. You’d start feeling isolated and alone pretty quick.

Either of those situations would be bad. But  there’s something far worse. You can experience a certain kind of isolation without ever leaving the comfort of home. By now I’m sure you’ve guessed what it is. It’s  eternal isolation, and it’s the direct result of rejecting Jesus Christ. For those who refuse to believe, they will spend all eternity separated from God.

Jesus said  “Enter through the narrow gate.  For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”That’s recorded in Matthew chapter 7. Jesus was saying that the majority of humanity will not be saved. They’ll be forever separated from God with no chance for redemption. It’s a very hard truth. No one likes to hear that in this day and age of relativism and religious pluralism, but like it or not, it’s still the truth. There will be more people in hell than in Heaven. But in spite of being in the company of  all those other condemned souls, I cannot imagine anything lonelier than spending eternity apart from God.

I pray that everyone who reads this either has, or will, accept Jesus Christ as his or her savior, and will acknowledge that Jesus is the Son of God who paid the penalty for our sins. It is the only way to avoid the isolation and the torment of spending eternity apart from God. If you haven’t professed your faith in Christ, don’t wait another second because the moment you invite Jesus Christ into your life, you no longer stand alone. How do we know this? Because Jesus gave us His word.  In John 14 He said:
Because I live, you also will live.  In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him. “  ………………..“I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you.”  With the spirit of God in your heart, you will never be alone again.

Finally, in John 15, Jesus said to His disciples: “No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.” Let’s pray and ask God to strengthen our commitment to the Great Commission. Let’s make it our  resolution to introduce someone to our friend, Jesus Christ

