What Do You Want To Be Doing On That Day?

Remember, then, what you received and heard. Keep it, and repent. If you will not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what hour I will come against you.

Behold, I am coming like a thief! Blessed is the one who stays awake, keeping his garments on, that he may not go about naked and be seen exposed!

Those words spoken by Jesus are recorded for us….not in the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, but in two different chapters of the book of Revelation. They were echoed by the apostles Paul and Peter in 1 Thessalonians and 2 Peter respectively in which they warned that the day of the Lord would come like a thief in the night. Jesus’ return will be sudden and will come at a time known only by God the Father, and when it’s least expected.

So ask yourselves this question: What do I want to be doing when Jesus returns? What do I want to be doing at that exact moment? Equally important is this question, What do I NOT want to be doing when Jesus returns? The first thing that might come to mind is sexual immorality. Yes, Christians do stumble, and that should be at the top of the list of things you do not want to be doing when Jesus returns. Paul wrote in 1 Corithinans 6 that “every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body. Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God?” You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” So that’s the most obvious answer, but what else? What else do we not want to be doing when Jesus returns?

Would I want to be caught in a fit of anger at the moment Jesus returns? Would I want to be berating my wife and children over something minor and insignificant? Would I want to be cursing and yelling at another driver on the freeway? Would I want to be talking disrespectfully about my my supervisor to my co-workers? Would I want to be caught in dishonesty of any kind? Would I want to be holding a grudge against someone refusing to forgive them? Would I want to be telling myself that I just didn’t feel like sharing my faith with a particular person? Would I want to be walking away and pretending not to see that person with a legitimate need who was about to approach me and ask for my help? Would I want to be doing anything shameful at the moment of our Lord’s return?

It’s safe to say there are many things we don’t want to be doing when Jesus comes. Though we’re saved, we’re not perfect and some of us may have done some of these things, and that includes me. So I’m not about to throw stones. But with each day that passes, we are one day closer to the return of our Savior. So with that in mind, let’s make a commitment each day to ask ourselves, “What do I want to be doing when Jesus returns?” And by doing that, it is my hope and prayer that we’ll avoid the things we don’t want to be doing.

