There is an answer

I live in the Dallas Fort Worth area and actually work near downtown Dallas at Love Field. I’ve watched the news all evening as the evil and violence in downtown Dallas continued to unfold. Several reporters from the local news stations got caught up in all of this tonight. They interviewed many of the witnesses who were on the scene and I was struck by one comment I heard time and again. “We don’t know what the answers are.”…”There are no answers.”…”I don’t know what the answer is.”

I do know what the answer is: The answer is Jesus Christ. For the past 50 years, our nation has slowly but steadily turned away from God. America has been telling God to go take a hike. We have told God, “We don’t want you. We don’t need you. We can take care of ourselves. We’re just fine without You.” We’re reaping the consequences. God will honor the request of any nation that tells Him to shove off.

What happened tonight in Dallas is nothing but pure evil. But this evil did not start tonight and it did not start here in Dallas. However, this will only get worse unless this country gets on its knees and returns to Jesus Christ. America must acknowledge its need for Christ.

I’m well aware of what took place in Louisiana and Minnesota. I’m not ignoring that. I understand there’s anger and outrage over what happened in those places. But the answer for the anger and outrage is the same as the answer for the evil that drove these thugs to shoot 11 Dallas Police Officers, killing 4. It’s the answer for all the evil in the world. The answer is Jesus Christ.  As a nation, we must return to following Jesus Christ. This nation is under judgement, and tonight’s display of evil serves as a reminder that God is removing His blessing and His hand of protection. God will not protect a nation that spits in His face. The history of judgement upon nations that’s recorded in the Bible bears witness to that.

God is faithful. His promises are true. And God has promised us this:

If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

Pray tonight for all the officers and their families. This is absolutely heartbreaking.

Pray for our nation. America’s repentance and restoration as a nation begins with prayer, one person at a time.

Don’t tell me there’s no answer.

 

